Eye Eye..

It’s been a funny old week, I’ve been to Darlington and back home to Somerset within 24 hours, I have learnt that it’s very very cold in that part of the world, however the taxi driver informed me “It’s not even proper cold yet love” as lovely as the fleeting visit was I must remember to be properly kitted out should I visit again!

My beautiful big girl has been going through some tough times at school, school have been amazing but it’s been an experience I never want to repeat for her or me, and am hoping it all passes soon.  I feel like I am definitely winging it on the Motherhood front.

My beautiful youngest has developed some god awful virus that seems to have affected her breathing, therefore making her lung syndrome that she has make itself known, presenting her with a wheeze, so I seem to follow her round with the inhaler at the ready!

Yesterday I had to attend an IIH related hospital appointment. 

Ophthalmology – I attend these appointments every other month, ophthalmologists can play a vital role in the initial management of IIH. They are often the first to see IIH patients and may then work in concert with a neurologist to monitor treatment, regular visual field tests and comprehensive dilated eye exams are recommended to monitor any changes in vision. I feel thank ful that I am closely monitored and have a lovely Ophthalmologist Dr Robertson.

A number of vision tests may also be performed, including a comprehensive dilated eye exam to look for signs of papilledema. I have papilledema more so in my right eye, but as time has gone on with this condition I now have it in the left.  In intracranial hypertension, papilledema most commonly occurs bilaterally, causing a swelling of the optic disc, it may progress to enlargement of the blind spot, blurring of vision, visual obscurations (inability to see in a particular part of the visual field for a period of time) and ultimately total loss of vision may occur. ( My worst fear)
The  doctor uses an ophthalmoscope (a light with magnifying lenses that is used to look into the back of the eye) to diagnose papilledema. I can’t tell how much I hate this part and to all those with me on this, I feel your pain when we have to have the drops that enlarge our pupils so that they have the ability to see behind through the eye, they sting so much! And if you forget your sunglasses for when you enter outside its pain like no other lol!


 Visual field testing is done to evaluate your peripheral vision. This testing measures the area of space you can see at a given instant without moving your head or eyes, and on this occasion I have failed my test,  this will need to be discussed with my Neurologist, I actually have an appointment with him on the 30th, so no doubt it will be a topic of conversation, leading to yet another delightful Lumbar Puncture no doubt, I say that in the wrong tone as I know how important the Lumbar Punctures are in helping and keeping my sight.

So it wasn’t my best eye appointment to date but I personally think I failed the visual fields as the previous Lumbar Puncture was a success, so hopefully if I have another then it will mean I have a better visual field result, and no real cause for concern. Fingers crossed

Hope you all have had a lovely week.

Love ASIBTAF ❤️

Leave a Reply

