Remember kindness makes a difference.

I’m 3 days post lumbar puncture, still suffering slightly with a low pressure headache, but my pain, is mainly radiating from my back.  I had my ‘new patient’ appointment with my new GP first thing yesterday, which went really well, the Dr was really supportive and said though she didn’t know much about IIH, she would try her best to support me medically through my journey,  she said we would work together to see what works, which was really reassuring (positivity yay)she thinks a nerve may be damaged in my back temporarily due to LP, but should heal up soon, am hoping so as I feel like I’m walking like a duck!!


Later that morning, my brother and I attended the funeral of a friend of our family, she was well known, much liked/loved by so many, she was a very special lady, back when I was 15 she employed me every Saturday to do odd jobs, enabling me to pay for the School Ski trip, I would cycle ten minutes up the road to her house spend two hours with her, then two hours with house opposite, they were happy times each lady a wealth of knowledge (there were 4) , when I was with her, we would cook, garden and clean together, her cooking was lovely, one of my favourite memories is making her well known sausage rolls,  best bit for me was sampling! She would tell me about her childhood, her work career and I remember thinking how much she must of had to come through,but had that motivated her to  be all that she became? she was born in Germany and, because her grand mother was Jewish, her Austrian/German parents sent her to England for her own safety in 1939, hoping that one day they would all be reunited, sadly though her mother died in 1943, and her poor father was in a concentration camp,  she arrived on the kinder-transport, and was then homed with Dr Barnados, where she was educated and found work, a friend of her employer at the time, helped her to pursue her career in nursing, she trained in Southend General Hospital onto Charing Cross, from here she went to the Strand, it was here that she was the ENT Sister in charge of three wards and operating theatre for 16 years, she moved to the village I lived most of my life in, in 1972, where she eventually became Matron until 1986 in a local town hospital. I learnt yesterday that she had no memory whatsoever of  the time she was put on the kinder-transport at the tender age of 11 and sent away, I look at my eldest thinking she is not long past that age,  how heartbreaking for both parties that must of been,  that must of been why she had erased it from her memory, but did that make her the kind, caring lady she became? 

It was said yesterday

People will remember her totally dedicated care, not only of her patients, but of everyone she knew.

This is so true, she did care for us all in different ways, how wonderful to be remembered for being kind and caring.  I will always remember her, may she rest in peace.

If one person remembered me for an act of kindness how fulfilling would that be.. the reasons for being kind are innumerable

  • Being kind feels good
  • Kindness broadens our perspective
  • Kindness helps people feel respected and less alone
  • Kindness softens our heart
  • Your children will follow by example (thanks Mum and Dad)
  • People will want to spend time you
  • Kindness is free


I myself have recieved so many acts of kindness in the past 48 hours (if the truth is known every single day) , from my beautiful family, wonderful parents, brother, fabulous friends, each one daily checking on me with texts, messages, emails, cooking and waiting on me (thank you Mum,Dad and hubby)

A friend bringing me flowers ‘to brighten my day’


To people speaking to me as they walk to work with a cheery hi, then another friend stopping and asking if I needed a lift because she knew I was in pain and it was raining.

All of these small acts of kindness mean so much, since becoming unwell  I am grateful for each and every one I receive.

Think how happy a day can be when kindness touches it x
Lots of ❤️ ASIBTAF 

Leave a Reply

