Morning Pain.

Last night my head felt a bit odd, not awful but not right, this morning I have awoken to a vice crushing my brain together whilst trying to push itself out of the front of my face, it’s not a feeling I’m unfamiliar with but it’s one I haven’t experienced for the past 6 weeks with such ferocity, I’ve had the odd light head pain as usual which you know you have but just go about your usual day, this is partially I think because I’m used to having it, I’m sure other sufferers can empathise with me on that, we all have headaches, mild or chronic, some we can manage, some we cannot.

This morning is one of those mornings where I can’t manage it, I don’t think I have moved from the same position for the past hour, if I move the pain just pulses with me, making me nauseous.

Headache tends to be the first symptom: generalised throbbing is worst first thing in the morning and last thing at night. It is relieved on standing (consistent with raised intracranial pressure). It is also aggravated by straining, coughing or a change in position.

Visual blurring can occur, as can obscuration’s such as blobs of black and smoke like wisps (known as floaters), I seem to have these pretty much all the time, There is also double vision, and in some cases sufferers experience visual loss in one eye or both, I experienced this a lot before I was actually diagnosed, I was at work and literally everything went black, as you can imagine this was so frightening, unfortunately this was put down to tiredness by A and E, I was sent on my way then my initial diagnosis was Labyrinthitis this is an inner ear infection. It causes a delicate structure deep inside your ear called the labyrinth to become inflamed, affecting your hearing and balance.

But I couldn’t understand why my head hurt so much if it was my ears, but took the medication which I think was SERC, it didn’t really help, and after a few more trips to  A and E, then a hospital stay I was diagnosed with Idiopathic Intercranial Hypertension, “Idiopathic” means “of unknown etiology” “Intercranial”means within the skull, and “Hypertension”means abnormally high pressure.

And TODAY, IIH YOU HAVE TAKEN OVER MY HEAD WITH A VENGEANCE!

I’m hoping that a some point today you do one, as I have things to do, I’m still sat here wishing you away, Luckily my lovely oldest daughter has taken the smallest to school, I am better not talking or moving my head, and it’s literally taking me word from word to write this (thank god for spell check) but if I don’t explain the bad days, how will people gain a better understanding of this condition.

I’m hoping the pain will ease off at some point this morning, and that there won’t be a trip to my local A and E, I’m sure my back isn’t ready for a Lumbar Puncture just yet, I say I my back but it’s actually my mind, I need to be mentally prepared for one, but if needs be, I would.

So as I sit here feeling guilty that the dishwasher isn’t packed, the washing has not been hung up, that I didn’t take my smallest to school, that I had to cancel my plans with family and friends, I reflect on the fact that hopefully later in the day I will feel better and all those things will still be there, it’s no biggy they aren’t done, that my smallest had a treat with the oldest (they bonded not argued) and it makes me more determined to focus on my journey of getting better, but for now I’m going to try shut my eyes and sleep it off!

Have a lovely day 

Big love ASIBTAF ❤️

2 thoughts on “Morning Pain.

  1. Poor love, I am glad you have described it so well. I know so many people have no idea of how dreadful IIH is.
    I hope you will soon feel better. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

