So here I am..

So  I’m sure, most new blog posts start with the same thing, my name is and I’m writing this because.

My blog name is a smile is better than a frown, this is because that’s my motto – smiling at someone whether they smile back will make you feel better, well it does me!

The things I adore in life are my husband, my two crazy daughters, my Mum, my Dad, my family, friends, hearing my kids laugh,shoes (so materialistic), Greece, green spaces, seaside, flowers, smiley people, excercise (when I can, more on that later) and lastly being with people.

Things I dislike are rude people, my weight, depression, anxiety, terminal illness, stigmas attached to weight or illnesses, the fact I adore food!, when my children argue, when my children have friend issues, money the stress it causes and lastly my worst dislike is having to live with the condition I.I.H.

IIH – Idiopathic Intercranial Hypertension, this bad boy joined me in 2014 officially! and I just can’t seem to shake him off, I could call him many words all very strong swear words..but today I will refrain, as I know in future the wording will be extreme.

So many people close to me have said you should blog about living with that, it would be interesting for people to learn about and really understand it, and mixed with your life could be an interesting read!

Without a doubt it’s been a journey already one at times I’ve wondered how the bloody hell I can continue on it, but I hoping this will help,  and if just one person learns more about it from reading my blog then I would be happy.

So what is it?

Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension (IIH) is a neurological condition of unknown cause defined by increased intracranial pressure (ICP) around the brain without the presence of a brain tumour. IIH is also known by its earlier name: Benign Intracranial Hypertension (BIH) is little used because the condition can cause visual loss and therefore is not harmless or benign. You may also occasionally see it referred to as Pseudotumor Cerebri (PTC) because some sufferers present with signs and symptoms of a brain tumour despite no tumour being present, (‘pseudo’ meaning false).

But if I’m going to be blunt my body makes to much CSF fluid, it then crushes my brain and the back of my eyes, it’s like the worst bloody headache you have had in your life, double and triple it and on a pain scale your nearly there.

Now be reassured I’m not going to be droning on and wallowing in self pity, just blogging about life and the various experiences that go with having a family and IIH.

I look forward to this  writing journey and hope I at least have one reader! 🙏🏻

Big ❤️️ ASIBTAF x

Leave a Reply

